Record buyer

When I first arrived in Copenhagen (January) I had no idea what I was going to do.

I had enough money for a month or two and just naively thought something would turn up.

Well, eight months down the track and I’m still waiting.

I remember early on thinking that it would be nice to be self-sustaining but without resorting to actual work.

And to that end I actually went out and started rummaging around junk stores for things I could flog on eBay.

On my first trip I came home with some records:

1/ War of the Worlds Soundtrack

2/ Erasure: The Innocents

3/ PM Dawn: Set Adrift on Memory Bliss

4/ Now That’s What I Call Music VIII

5/ Dirty Dancing Soundtrack

I got home and texted my cousin who knows about such things but his response was dispiriting to say the least.

“Largely worthless,” was his professional estimation.

So now, instead of a fledgling career in online entrepreneurship, I just have the beginnings of a truly awful record collection.

I’m willing to take suggestions about my next career move.

Use the comment form below.

4 Responses to “Record buyer”


  1. 1 Charlie September 5, 2006 at 6:24 pm

    Sign language teacher? With that record collection, you gotta be deaf ;)? Give me a shout soon, haven’t heard from you in ages.

  2. 2 Tim September 5, 2006 at 8:58 pm

    Write erotic literature. Sex sells.

    Erasure’s The Innocents is a fine album, by the way. They’re a much under-appreciated band.

  3. 3 Dave September 5, 2006 at 10:35 pm

    Stick to supporting Everton…….it may not make you much money but at least you’ll be happy.

    Book reviewer……………….of erotic literature of course!

  4. 4 paul collins September 6, 2006 at 11:25 am

    Alright mate – find myself in the same boat at the moment – have decided to do a car boot sale with all the stuff from Sarah’s garage – one man’s rubbish is anothers treasure and all that – it’s Ebay for the computer illiterate


Leave a comment