This shithole island

I have come back to England for the weekend. It’s the first time I’ve been here since February.

It’s a terrible thing to fall irrevocably out of love with your country.

There is a gnawing misery and hopeless discontent tearing through the ether here; so many people I have talked to this weekend seem consumed by material concerns.

Many are mortgaged up to their eyeballs, and those who aren’t seem weighed down by what they see as a failure on their part to not yet be owning a property.

This is all going to come crashing down.

6 Responses to “This shithole island”


  1. 1 Tim September 15, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    Welcome back… shame you’re not staying longer, would have enjoyed buying you a pint.

  2. 2 Dave Moulton September 17, 2007 at 5:43 pm

    I am English having lived in the US for 28 years. When I go back to the UK it seems like a foreign country. At the same time I am still a foreigner in the US; I have become a man without a country.

  3. 3 aaron78 September 18, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Tim: Yeah, it would have been cool to meet for a beer…I’ll forewarn you next time and we’ll meet.

    Dave: I know what you mean. But in some ways I like the feeling of being rootless. England still means everything to me but in its present state, I’m happy not to live there. Somehow, living as a foreigner is kind of liberating. It’s like i’m unencumbered by the usual petty worries.

  4. 4 Andrew September 18, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    I fell out of love with the UK in 1996 and haven’t lived there since. But it is hard not to belong anywhere

  5. 5 Tolchard October 1, 2007 at 1:17 am

    Me and the UK fell out a long time ago. Why would you choose to live there if given a choice? The best thing about the UK though is the level of banter you have down the pub. I haven’t been anywhere since where I have cried with laughter whilst watching the footy results come in. That is the only thing I miss, well that and a pint of Country down the Farriers. Happy Days

  6. 6 toytracs February 16, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    the problem with this shithole is the one who rules it is never known,it tends to pass that on to men,it has a special (talent) to manipulate people,and whow betide anyone like me that founds them out,i want out of this shithole mad womens island,with my entire family and pets asap, and all the unbrainwashed by tv,media and radio etc to do the same,it they want a life,


Leave a Reply

