What Twitter is

I’ve been doing some blogging/new media seminars with work recently, and I’ve been mentioning Twitter a lot.

It seems to me that there is a ton of potential in micro-blogging formats like Twitter but it’s too early to tell exactly what function/business use they will have.

What I’ve been doing at the seminars is just pointing out the fact that it exists and that it’s up to organisations to figure out how best to incorporate it into their daily practices, if they even want to in the first place.

But I just found this post, where David Armano recounts how he used Twitter to report on an act of heroism he witnessed.

Maybe ‘field journalism’, to use his term, will be Twitter’s greatest beneficiary.

Also, it’s interesting to note that the BBC are now using Twitter. Their bloggers Ben Dirs and Tom Fordyce, currently driving round France reporting on the Rugby World Cup, have set up Twitter streams. And they’re using Flickr too.

Already using Twitter? Add me here.

2 Responses to “What Twitter is”


  1. 1 willumsgaard20 September 20, 2007 at 9:25 am

    Hi Aaron

    As far as I can see, you use both Twitter and Jaiku. I am mainly using Jaiku, and sometimes Pownce for microblogging. I have also got a Twitter-profile, but really never used it, because I think that Jaiku have at least the same facilites as Twitter, plus several more useful ones, like the comments function.

    But do you think Twitter has got any advantages to Jaiku?

    Erik

  2. 2 aaron78 September 21, 2007 at 6:10 am

    It’s strange, I really don’t know why but I definitely prefer Twitter though I admit Jaiku has superior functionality. I think it’s just because more people I know are using Twitter and so there’s more dynamism to it. I’m definitely using Pownce a lot more now and starting to see a lot of value in it.


Leave a Reply

