Autumn

In recent days, the weather here in Copenhagen has turned distinctly brisk.

The leaves desert the trees, I’ve swapped my quilt for a duvet, and tonight I’ve dug out my pyjamas for the first time since February.

I thought this would make me sad, but in fact the opposite is the case.

The cold, bracing air has brought with it many happy memories… strange how changes in temperature can impact our moods and sensory impressions so profoundly.

Copenhagen is bewitching at this time of year… rosy-cheeked girls on bikes, beautiful couples hurrying home to snuggle on sofas, friends gathering in cosy cafes to catch up on each others’ lives.

I’ve often felt peripheral to the lives of the cities I’ve lived in, but it’s different here.

It’s as though the sharp demarcation of the seasons creates a more acute sense of communality. I’m happy to be here, and happy to discover what the next day will bring, and the next.

2 Responses to “Autumn”


  1. 1 Brendan September 6, 2007 at 2:57 am

    It feels like yesterday it was winter, now you are heading for it again. Quite the opposite here in Melbourne, spring is here, the sun has decided to come out and I’m wearing flip flops for the first time.

    Two days ago, I bottle fed a baby lamb on my parents farm as his mother delivered him on top of the windiest, coldest hill and then abandoned him. After a couple of hours by the warm fire and some soothing world music which my mother claims is healing, little lamby started to drink. We then rounded up the rebelious mother and reunited the uninteligent piece of wool with her baby, by locking them in a metre square cubical in the shed. After one night together mother and baby have formed their bond and are hapily grazing with the rest of the flock.

    We also sent 4 sheep to be slaughtered that day, I would have liked to have sent the mother as well, for leaving her lamb to face the elements alone, but she probably wouldnt have tasted nice anyway.
    Sheep are stupid animals!

  2. 2 Jim Pannell September 8, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    I’m totally with you on this Aaron. Autumn is my favourite time of year. It somehow allows me to take a step back and look at where I am in my life… not sure how this happens, but it’s a magical time. Amazing colours everywhere, (often) beautiful sunshine and great for long walks where the reward is a good pint in a country pub. Wonder where we could do that in Denmark? 😉


Leave a Reply

