NO friends

Here’s something interesting… especially if like me you’re spending less and less time actually talking with real people.

According to their site, ‘NOSO is a real-world platform for temporary disengagement from social networking environments. The NOSO experience offers a unique opportunity to create NO Connections by scheduling NO Events with other NO Friends.

These “NO” events, called NOSOs, take place in designated cafés, parks, libraries, bookstores, and other public spaces. Participants – whose identities remain unknown to one another – agree to arrive at an assigned time and remain alone, quiet and un-connected, while at the same time knowing that another “Friend” is present in the space.

NOSOs are scheduled by users through the NOSO website. They last for a duration of 1 – 30 minutes, after which participants disperse and return to their regular activities.’

I quite like the idea of organising one in Bang and Jensen, everyone turning up at the allotted hour and staring shiftily at one another before leaving en masse.

I wonder if people ever talk to one another at the events? Or maybe there’s a Fight Club-style rule which forbids actual interaction on pain of death.

I think i’d find it too tempting NOT to talk someone. Though knowing my luck the chances are that person wouldn’t be there for the NOSO and would look at me like I was some kind of madman for asking if ‘they were there for the silent meet-up thing that i’d organised on the internet’.

I’ve written to them to ask if I could set one up so I’ll keep you informed.

NOSO

3 Responses to “NO friends”


  1. 2 Giorgio/kulbe August 29, 2007 at 9:09 am

    this sounds really borderline.. it might be subversive if it is agreed not to consume anything into the bar.

  2. 3 Dez August 30, 2007 at 12:02 pm

    I think this is crossing the line over into pointlessly strange!

    I can sit in my flat and stare out of a window for 30 minutes and NOT connect with anyone. It’s often known as day-dreaming isn’t it? 😉


Leave a Reply

