Nostalgia

Between the ages of 12 and 14 I lived in New Zealand.

It was an amazing place and an amazing time. In many ways it shaped who I am today though I won’t get into that here.

But having stumbled across the video below of the New Zealand rugby team performing the haka, I thought i’d share my own experience.

The school I attended was rugby-crazy – as most New Zealand schools are. I knew a few lads who went on to play for the All Blacks (the nickname of the New Zealand rugby team), while my head boy was none other than Andrew Mehrtens, the All Blacks’ all-time leading points scorer.

One of my most vivid memories is being taught the haka in one of the school halls ahead of a big match for the school’s first team.

Before the match, our whole school lined up on our side of the pitch and performed the haka in a ‘challenge’ to our opponents lined up opposite.

It certainly spiced things up a bit.

Anyway, here’s how the big boys do it.

1 Response to “Nostalgia”


  1. 1 belle80 August 7, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    I didn’t know you have a kiwi connection!
    The haka makes me proud (even though girls don’t perform it), every New Zealand boy learns a few moves, its the first thing that comes to mind when a few lonely travellers or expats are overseas. A Maori war dance that has become part of a national identity. But I am sometimes amazed that they let our rugby team perform it before every match…its not the most pleasant thing, witnessing it from the opposing team


Leave a Reply

