We’re all deluded

I’ve come across two quotes today that I thought I’d share. . .

“The point of living and of being an optimist, is to be foolish enough to believe the best is yet to come.” – Sir Peter Ustinov.

“Man’s real life is happy, chiefly because he is ever expecting that it soon will be so.” – Edgar Allan Poe.

1 Response to “We’re all deluded”


  1. 1 Tim June 25, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    I met Ustinov at my University graduation. He seemed to be able to command respect and inspire affection in equal measure. Rare and enviable qualities.

    Suppose I’d better leave a quote while I’m here, or it’ll just look like I’m name dropping…

    “My practicality consists in this, in the knowledge that if you beat your head against the wall it is your head which breaks and not the wall… that is my strength, my only strength.” – Antonio Gramsci

    Hope you’re well, etc.


Leave a Reply

