Rattling cages

A while ago I put a post up bemoaning what I perceived as a lack of spontaneity in Danish life.

As most of you know, I love being here. Denmark has given me a lot of opportunities, career wise and personally.

But moving to any ‘foreign’ country has its challenges. Things are different, and you have to adapt and adjust. Which is what makes it so exciting!

There are frustrations though. One of the biggest differences between here and the UK is the way people plan their social lives.

Things are definitely more organised here. Heading down to my local pub, bumping into a few friends and whiling away a few hours over a beer or two is probably the only thing about I miss about the UK!

Anyway, it seems that that observation has landed me in hot water with another blogger. Marie argues that it suggests I don’t belong here.

Thankfully, that is the first time I have encountered any hostility here in Denmark.

I can understand her reaction though. Nobody likes to see their country being criticised – especially by udlændinge.

Still, I hope she keeps reading. I’m sure if she does she’ll realise that any frustrations I have should be taken with a pinch of salt. For the record – Denmark rules.

6 Responses to “Rattling cages”


  1. 1 ms June 16, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    I wouldn’t worry; she doesn’t sound too serious.

  2. 2 Alf June 16, 2007 at 5:35 pm

    Yeah agreed…. Anyone who links to their own blog (within links) from their own blog, cannot be all that serious. But, you know, some people (usually the ones who never get tired of repeating the same stuff over and over again) simply have to take on extremes in order to whip up “new” things, to post in their blogs.

  3. 3 Russell June 16, 2007 at 6:35 pm

    The only thing that is rotten is the Danish xenophobia.

  4. 4 belle80 June 17, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    Yes well, ‘belonging’ just isn’t something that happens these days. Only if you have a false sense of Danish Utopia

  5. 5 marks June 17, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Wow. She makes me feel sad about being Danish 😦

  6. 6 aaron78 June 18, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Cheers for the supportive comments everyone.


Leave a Reply

