Helvetica

The guys at Sweet Talk pulled off a bit of a bit of a coup this evening, selling out the only Scandinavian screening to date of the documentary Helvetica.

Part historical background and part investigation into the font’s impact on graphic design, the film ends with the intriguing premise that we are all graphic designers now, busy personalising our Myspace pages and crafting our online personalities. Branding ourselves, in other words.

Anyway, check it out if you get the chance.

3 Responses to “Helvetica”


  1. 1 marks June 8, 2007 at 12:34 am

    Så pis mig da i øret!

    I really really REALLY wanted to see this and have looked for a date for a Danish screening for a long time, and then it’s finally showing… And where am I? In Aalborg. Goddamn.

    But hey – sorry I’ve been the quiet man, but I’ve been busy as hell… Next week should be nice and quiet though 🙂

    Give me a holla at my mobile, because I had to buy a new one (the old one got nicked by a black guy in Bankeråt).

  2. 2 aaron78 June 8, 2007 at 8:10 am

    I’ll bell you soon mate. You should definitely get the film when it comes out on DVD – who’d have thought typefaces could be so interesting!

    I’ve been a victim of theft myself recently – a white guy stole my bike. 😉

  3. 3 Jim Pannell June 12, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Damn – this would have been right up my street as well… wish I’d known about it! I wouldn’t describe myself as a font geek, but I do have more than 5 books on typography (does that mean I AM a font geek?)… anyway, did you go Aaron? How was it?


Leave a Reply

