Meaningless, guttural sounds . . .

Props to Spoiled Milk for pointing me in the direction of this Norwegian piss-take of the Danish language . . .

4 Responses to “Meaningless, guttural sounds . . .”


  1. 1 Dez June 6, 2007 at 10:56 am

    Oh my word…. that’s fecking hilarious :))))))

    I wonder what a Dane would make of this comedy sketch (especially coming from a bunch of Norgemand!!)

    I so want to be able to speak good Danish and feel part of the country I live in. But coming from an English phonetic speaking background it just feels sometimes that there’s a special trick that I’m just never gonna get. Almost like Danish has deliberately eveolved to be harder for everyone else to get their head/tongue around 😉

    I particularly like it when you try and say a Danish word to a Dane. They don’t get it, so you repeat it 3 or 4 times. They finally understand you and repeat the word you were trying to say in their own accent. And to me (and I’m guessing all other non-Danes in the room) it sounds exactly like the word you were trying trying to enunciate!

    Hej, I guess it is what makes the world a more fun place 🙂

  2. 2 Patrick Damsted June 7, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Recently i spend the night at a hotelroom in Lzern with a group of Norwegians – led by my friend Eirikso.com, and they showed me this video. I just lauged and laughed – it is so funny. And I AM Danish. Well that night I actually felt a little bit Norwegian, but that was probably the (Norwegian) Brandy talking.

  3. 3 Sylvia Nielsen July 20, 2007 at 8:49 pm

    My Husband is Danish and as we are planning a move to Denmark this year, I accidentally stumbled upon your website and found ‘Meaningless, guttural sounds’, My husband hasn’t stopped laughing so far and in the process of emailing your link to all his friends. Absolutely hilarious.

  4. 4 aaron78 July 21, 2007 at 7:53 am

    Hehe! Glad to be of service Sylvia. 😉


Leave a Reply

