On cricket

‘A cricket ground is a flat piece of earth with some buildings around it.’ Richie Benaud

I love the reductionist logic of that statement. An infinitely complex sport, cricket is ultimately little more than a group of individuals hitting and pursuing a ball around that flat piece of earth, before repairing to said buildings to eat cucumber sandwiches.

I have spent the last three days watching the first Test match of the summer. The time has passed imperceptibly. Yesterday I was barely away of what day it was.

Cricket carries me into a state of being which is – paradoxically – both deeply contemplative and utterly thoughtless.

Tranquility reigns.

I wrote an awful poem once about how the sight of a dog asleep beneath the boughs of a lemon tree helped me realise that peace of mind might not be as far away as I thought.

Cricket has the same effect. The gentle acts of repetition, the pleasing hum of a crowd come to worship at the same church as me, and the obscure, archaic rituals dotting the day’s play like daisies in a field in June.

Life is full enough of hard, difficult things; cricket is my soft landing.

cricket.jpeg

4 Responses to “On cricket”


  1. 1 Richard Brown May 20, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    It takes a cultured mind to remain still whilst the world moves by – the dull brain moves to find something to ruin.

  2. 2 aaron78 May 21, 2007 at 7:02 am

    Beautifully put Richard.

  3. 3 Dez May 21, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Nice piece. I definitely think it is true that Cricket is more of a lifestyle choice than a sport 🙂

  4. 4 Full Survey June 16, 2013 at 11:43 am

    I’m starting up a online blog directory and was wondering if I can submit your blog? I’m trying to grow my directory little by little
    by hand so that it retains quality. I will make sure and
    put your blog in the proper category and I’ll additionally use, “On cricket | Something rotten” as your anchor text. Please let me know if this is ok with you by e-mailing me at: reuben-scanlon@yahoo.com. Thanks alot 🙂


Leave a Reply

