That moment when it all makes sense

Here’s something which might get a few of you out of the woodwork and onto my comments page. . .

Tell us about a moment when everything just clicked. A moment when life, the universe, everything – it all coalesces in a feeling of pure bliss and complete surrender to the intrinsic rightness of things.

Has it ever happened to you?

For me, there has only been a couple of moments but i’ll share one and try and get the ball rolling.

I was 16, or maybe 17, and on a school skiing trip to France. Early one morning, we made our way up to the slopes as usual.

We waited in line for the chairlifts and, for once, I found myself sitting alone, being slowly transported up the mountain.

I felt it almost instantly. A warm, calming feeling of tranquility. The blue skies above, the untouched white snow below, my skis gently dangling in the faintest of breezes.

There was nothing but the gentle whirr of the chairlift, the muted conversation of the people in the chairs ahead and behind me. The sunlight pouring onto the snow which seemed to gleam so brightly you could not look at it too long.

Inside, I knew something special was happening. It was like a pitch perfect note was being played in my head, and then echoing down throughout the rest of me.

Soon it passed, but something had changed. I think I knew then that almost nothing would match that feeling.

4 Responses to “That moment when it all makes sense”


  1. 1 beautywalks March 22, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    I remember watching the first leaf fall to the concrete path on my way to class. I’m not sure that I ever remember noticing that event before and somehow it seemed significant. The air was still warm with the autumn sun high in the sky and I felt ready for what the new season would bring. Fall always makes me feel alive. I love the vibrant colors of orange and red against the deep blue of the sky and the smell of damp grass and leaves. All of my senses become more alive and receptive to the change. It always seems as though with the dying of the leaves comes the promise that things can change for the better, that the whole world sheds it’s old self and becomes revived because of it. I felt that I could shed my old self as well. I wait every year now to see if I catch the falling of the first leaf and I don’t think that I have. None before and none since have held the significance of that one.

  2. 2 aaron78 March 22, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    Very nice. It’s a difficult job shedding our old selves sometimes.

  3. 3 beautywalks March 23, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    That day was in 1992. I had just started college. Who knows how many times I have reinvented myself or how many other moments of understanding I have had since? Things were good and full of hope…right…then.

    Uf!!! I’m OLD! 🙂

  4. 4 dariverotter March 24, 2007 at 1:52 am

    I remember in college I had a fine art photography teacher talk about the “Decisive Moment”, where everything comes together. At first, I did not really understand it until I went out with my camera and just parked myself with my camera and tripod and just watched the sidewalk. Amazingly, I discovered that there truly are moments where what is in sight comes together in picture harmony.


Leave a Reply

