A sad day

As some of you may know, I am an Everton fan.

For many years now I have posted on The People’s Forum, the thinking Evertonian’s refuge!

On 24 February, a long-time poster I knew only as dc posted this message:

….At 5 o’clock I’ve to go to the hospice. I’ve a million things still to do here and had intended to post this last night but, sorry to put it this way, there were other more important practical and legal matters I had to do.

Sometimes when people want nothing BUT drama they say “I don’t want no drama” but in my case I mean it. They’ve tried everything for my ticker and valves and arteries but they’re ####ed within the next 10 days maximum, all my own fault from long ago – no need for details. No sympathy expected or wanted or more importantly worth it cos I’ll not get a chance to read it. Furthermore one of my sons regularly reads this board from this computer so I rather he read nothing – please I DO mean that. I’d prefer sympathy for not seeing the Watford match cos even tho they’ve got SSports apparently no PremPlus. If they’ll let me pay for it I will tho so you never know. Also they’ve a couple of internet computers, so maybe I’ll get on for a few days – it’ll be a different IP address I’ve no idea if that will block my password so….

I’m no Dancing Dave, I’m not a very nice guy and I’m no fisher for compliments so lets not split hairs here.

Learn from me, keep it all in moderation, accept the consequences for your mistakes, know your faults, but pick up EVERY bit of happiness you can at no-ones’ expense.

I’m gonna have great fun with some great people for a week or so and I can’t wait.

Erica will post a quick message here in a week or so.

I know most of you won’t get some of his more specific references – for the Danes out there, his ‘ticker’ is his heart – but I’m sure you’ll understand what he is talking about in general.

Anyway, today Erica posted the news that dc had passed away.

While I had never met him in person, it still feels like losing a friend.

I will do my best to try and follow his advice:

Learn from me, keep it all in moderation, accept the consequences for your mistakes, know your faults, but pick up EVERY bit of happiness you can at no-ones’ expense.

0 Responses to “A sad day”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

