My sweetheart in the snow

She wheeled her bike along the last stretch of the pavement. Behind her, the trail of her tyres was slowly erased, the flattened flakes replaced by fresh snowfall.

3 Responses to “My sweetheart in the snow”


  1. 1 Chaz January 25, 2007 at 8:48 am

    I watched as the trail disappeared, thinking whose tracks I would see the next time I looked out, the snow recording the journey of all passing by, and then erasing it as night wears on.

  2. 2 beautywalks January 28, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    As I looked around me, I noticed that there were dozens of prints all headed different directions in the night, I was surrounded. Each print and every track was slowly being blended away by the silent flakes. And then I wondered, who’s footprints would I see if there was no snow?

  3. 3 Chaz January 30, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    Rain came and washed away her tracks, and the tracks of those who had come after. My imagination ran wild thinking where she might have gone, would I recognize that same trail at the next snowfall, or would I be following someone else’s lead? I looked forward to spring and the mysteries it might reveal, the faces it might bring to my doorstep.


Leave a Reply

