Rant

Is there anything more annoying than someone telling you to ‘stay positive, stay strong, you’ll get through this’??

Don’t worry, my world hasn’t come crashing down around me, I’ve just found a lot of sites recently where mutual support seems to be de rigeur.

There’s a million and one blogs out there documenting someone’s personal meltdown. Sympathy addicts and attention seekers, depressives, anyone who’s basically inadequate…you’ll find ’em all hovering round these sites like flies on shit, spewing out their platitudes and ‘relating’.

Back when I was far more disgruntled than I am now, I used to fantasise about smashing people’s heads in with a spade. (People I didn’t like you understand, not just random people in the street.)

Well that urge has come back to me now. I need some kind of virtual spade so I can give these ingrates the clobbering they deserve. Some kind of virtual shouting device would also be good so my beating could be accompanied by maniacal bellowing.

Yes, I like the fact that the net is a fascinating place where communities take root, networks flourish etc, but there is too much vacuousness for my liking.

Empty, meaningless words thrown into cyberspace just for the heck of saying something. Idiots.

As for the bloggers themselves, some of them are just as bad. I’m sure that for many, it’s a genuinely therapeutic activity. The messages of support they receive by the thousand probably also go some way to alleviating the psychological hell that is their lives.

But some of them just relish the attention.

Once the initial crisis has passed, they have to come up with some more shit to keep the readers entertained. Hell they may even have advertising revenue to consider now!!

People are cottoning onto the fact that there’s money to be made on the net with frank, confessional and often scandalous material.

Anyone with an ounce of imagination and some net marketing nous can make a few quid now, maybe a lot more.

I’d probably do it myself but I can’t be bothered. And besides I couldn’t very well slag myself off.

What am I saying, of course I could, I’d just invent another online persona and do it through them.

7 Responses to “Rant”


  1. 1 shewalksinbeauty January 4, 2007 at 1:05 am

    Hmmmmm…

    I’m not sure what to say.

    I hope I don’t fall into the category of bloggers you would like to beat senseless, but hey, maybe so. Either way, I can see your point. Don’t create drama for attention. That is weak.

  2. 2 Rosie Young January 4, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Only smashing people’s heads in with a shovel, darling? I blow the whole check-out queue away with a sawn-off shotgun – extremely satisfying. Love, Rosie xxx

  3. 3 aaron78 January 4, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    shewalksinbeauty, i wasn’t thinking of you!! i cant think of a more genuine blog than yours.

    Rosie, good point but I prefer the precision of the shovel as opposed to the shotgun’s indisriminate carnage. x

  4. 4 Tim January 4, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Ernest Hemingway: ‘Forget your personal tragedy. We are all bitched from the start and you especially have to be hurt like hell before you can write seriously. But when you get the damned hurt, use it; don’t cheat’.

    Salut, Mr B.

    2007 will indeed be a good year I think.

  5. 5 shewalksinbeauty January 4, 2007 at 11:35 pm

    LOL…I didn’t think you did!

    Have you considered torture? Physical beating is far more fulfilling than firing of a shot, I must agree.

    Tim, that Hemingway quote is spectacular, thank you for sharing.

  6. 6 Rosie Young January 6, 2007 at 5:24 am

    Be reasonable, darling – I can’t get rid of nine or ten people in the check-out queue with a shovel, precision or no precision. Each to her/his own. xxx

  7. 7 Tolchard January 9, 2007 at 6:45 am

    I’d love to stove your head in with a old lead pipe. Oi what’s all this 😦 about (did you like that!!)

    Sugarlips come over to Oz for a while. I’ll sort you out with half your ticket and it’ll be cheap as chips once you’re over. “Come on Come on come on” (to be sung in the style of gary glitter)

    Bugger it. Scapegoat international needs a leader and these Australians are dog poo.

    Get it sorted and “stay positive” Haaa Ha


Leave a Reply

