Networking

Had an interesting conversation with a new friend the other night about the receptiveness of Danes to online networking.

Copenhagen is not an easy place to make friends. People here have close-knit networks, often from early childhood, which they protect jealously.

The upshot being that when a newcomer arrives, he or she is treated civilly and courteously by work colleagues and acquaintances, but they will find it difficult to forge genuine connections and bonds.

Even Danes who move to Copenhagen admit that it’s difficult to make good friends here. Unless you’re at a party or someone new joins your company, the chances of meeting new people here are few and far between.

Which maybe explains why people turn to the net, not for dating, but just to meet likeminded people with similar interests.

A Dane will happily talk to you online and will readily agree to meet with you, but they are far less likely to start a conversation in a bar or cafe.

3 Responses to “Networking”


  1. 1 shewalksinbeauty December 13, 2006 at 11:52 pm

    I think it is probably easier for most people to talk online rather than in person. It takes a lot of confidence to speak face to face and strike up a conversation out of the blue. Online, you can think about what you say before you say it whereas in person you have to be quick on your feet.

    I’m actually better in person. Things don’t come out the way I want when I type them and I’m afraid I make an ass of myself. I’m awkward that way.

    Interesting that there is an entire country full of people who guard their friendships so well. Maybe they have better relationships because of it?

  2. 2 aaron78 December 14, 2006 at 12:49 pm

    I don’t know if the divorce rate is any lower here to be honest. Probably not. I’ve found the Danes to be very loyal within their friendship circles. It’s really hard to break in! I agree about being better at relating to people in the flesh, as well.

    I type away on this blog and whatever else I do online and never take the time to really evaluate what I’m writing. I just click send. There are so many more signals you can pick up on in the flesh!

  3. 3 shewalksinbeauty December 14, 2006 at 4:19 pm

    Yeah, after I click send I frequently wish I hadn’t!

    Sorry, if I do that to you!! I’ll just apologize now for any past, present or future infractions! 🙂


Leave a Reply

