Music for films

I saw a couple of films for the second time recently. Garden State and Napoleon Dynamite.

I don’t normally like re-watching films but I just stumbled on these two and got straight back into them.

They both have several gorgeous scenes but the two most notable, in my humble opinion, are as follows:

Garden State: When Natalie Portman gives Zach Braff her headphones and you hear the briefest smidgeon of The Shins’ New Slang.

Napoleon Dynamite: The final scene when Napoleon plays swingball with his girlfriend and The Promise by When in Rome plays.

Both these songs got me rummaging round the net in search of them and I’m listening to The Shins as I type this. Incidentally, you can find both tracks on Hype Machine.

Sometimes a song just hooks me completely and takes me somewhere different.

So that’s where I am now; the sun beaming in through the window and my freshly applied deoderant faring badly against the onset of a fresh sweat!

Have a good weekend folks.

0 Responses to “Music for films”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

